Friday, July 2, 2010

NEA Fine Arts Caucus Meeting Minutes – Thursday, July 2, 2010

Executive Board and Steering Committee – New Orleans Hotel

*Meeting called to order at 12:00 pm by Chair Kathi Zamora

*In attendance: Bob Lague (MA), John Kovalchik (PA); Sue Lemmo (PA), Rich NickLay (IA), Laura McIntyre Vander Haeghen (IN), Pamela Gibberman (CA), Oscar Forsman (IL), Tom McLaughlin (IA), Kathi Zamora (NV), Debbie Turici (PA)

*Welcome and Introductions, Sign-In Sheets

*Approval of minutes from July 6, 2009

*Handouts: Rules of Procedure; Arts advocacy websites

*New Business Items – discussion of last year’s NBI’s, NEA’s Report on NBI’s and NBI’s for this RA; great concern of loss of arts jobs, members, and dues

*All other meetings – Convention Center Cafeteria

*Non-Profit Booth – sign up sheet tomorrow for Sunday, Monday and Tuesday

*Ribbons need redesigned for next year; also, ordering pencils, other items

*Website – Iowa website became new NEA-FAC website – thanks to Tom McLaughlin

*Social Networking – we will use ning to communicate with entire membership throughout the year, post documents, post design entries, post scholarship info; discussion of Facebook

*Motion: $10 FAC membership includes FAC pin and card; motion by P. Gibberman, seconded by T. McLaughlin

*Discussion of NEA-FAC logo and redesigning it; possibly sponsoring a contest for FAC members

*Long discussion of goals, priorities, 3-5 year plan; making the FAC functional, viable, credible

Respectfully submitted by Debbie Turici

No comments:

Post a Comment